Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News

ALBUM COVER: Nordicwinter - Sorrow

Posted by Nick Skog on Tuesday, January 26, 2021 Under: Nordicwinter

After the releases of the "Requiem" and "Desolation" full-length albums in 2020, Nordicwinter returns with "Sorrow" this spring, marking its third release in two years and continuing a very prolific period for the project.

As with its previous records, "Sorrow" examines the darker side of the human condition through somber and melancholic music. Sticking at a mostly mid-tempo pace, the tracks on "Sorrow" (with the exception of the outro) are all between 7-10 minutes in length, and flow with sense and purpose across the record. Utilizing a typical depressive black metal sound, the guitars have the perfect level of distortion to carry a bit of grit while still being clear and allowing the occasional string melody to hover above the mix like a blanket of stars. Meanwhile, the drums and bass provide the necessary backing throughout the record, staying simple but remaining audible and a fundamental part of the album's sound. 

Today, we are pleased to reveal the album cover for "Sorrow", an edited photo originally taken by Melissa Parker

Furthermore, here is the tracklist for the album:

1 - Somber Winds Of Despair (Part I)
2 - Sullen Echoes
3 - In This Darkness...
4 - This Mournful Dirge
5 - Dying Winters
6 - Somber Winds Of Despair (Part II)
7 - Enshrined By Solitude (instrumental)
Total: 53:27

Next week, we will release a lyric video for the opening track on the album "Somber Winds of Despair (Part I)"

The release date for "Sorrow" is Friday March 26.
"Sorrow" will be presented in a 4 panel digipack with an 8 page insert. 
In addition to the CD, there will also be hoodies, shirts, and bundles available which will be revealed soon!


In : Nordicwinter 

Tags: "nordicwinter' "nordicwinter sorrow" "nordicwinter band" "nordicwinter music" "dsbm nordicwinter" "atmospheric black metal" "metal noir quebecois" 

Blog Archive