Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News

ALBUM NEWS: Ov Shadows unveils cover art and tracklist for upcoming release “I Djävulens Avbild"

Posted by Nick Skog on Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Under: Ov Shadows
Ov Shadows unveils the cover art for their upcoming album  “I Djävulens Avbild" due for release on Hypnotic Dirge Records on August 14, 2020. The cover art for “I Djävulens Avbild" was designed by the enigmatic Mister snöpuls

The new record  "I Djävulens Avbild" presents Ov Shadows at an unprecedented ferocity and forward-momentum, and apparently very intent on proving that to their listeners immediately, as pummeling drums and a heavy galloping riff fill the speakers within seconds of the opening track "Den Eld Som Tär Och Förvrider." 

Throughout "I Djävulens Avbild, the pace hardly ever lets up, instead taking you on an all-out sensory assault. The combination of infectious riffs, recurring hooks, blastbeats, and tortured vocals create an enveloping claustrophobic and dark dissonance, as if a shroud has covered your face and defined forms have turned to shadows. Despite its unrelenting nature, the details really shine through on "I Djävulens Avbild" thanks to its clear production, precise musicianship, and deliberate flow. The few times where the record does slow down become quite memorable due to the contrast. The use of powerful percussion and austere bass create a trance-inducing atmosphere while discordant tremolo-picked melodies soar overhead creating a wonderful juxtaposition that crescendos into catharsis. 
"I Djävulens Avbild" will be released on Hypnotic Dirge Records on Friday August 14 on CD/Digital format. An official "I Djävulens Avbild" shirt will also be available as well as a merch bundle.

1 - Den Eld Som Tär Och Förvrider (6:24)
2 - Blasfemiskt Crescendo (6:24)
3 - Under Dödens Vingar (5:44)
4 - Anakoretens Gap (5:06)
5 - I Djävulens Avbild (6:09)
6 - Spotsk (6:36)
7 - Av Kunskap Krönt Till Gud (6:34)
Total: 42:57

The english translations for the titles are:
1 - The Fire That Consumes And Distorts
2 - Blasphemous Crescendo
3 - Under the Wings of Death
4 - The Maw of the Anchorite
5 - In the Devil's Image
6 - Defiant
7 - By Knowledge Crowned God


Video by: Wikked Twist Media

In : Ov Shadows 

Tags: "ov shadows" "i djävulens avbild" "in the devil's image" "ov shadows band" "waning band" "obitus band" 

Blog Archive