Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News

Free digital compilation album "Subarctic Nocturnes: Within the Ice" [Volume II] released now!

Posted by Nick Skog on Thursday, April 2, 2015 Under: Hypnotic Dirge Records
A few weeks ago, we released a Doom Metal collection under the Subarctic Nocturnes banner. As we stated at that time, it was meant to be the first of a three-part trilogy series of compilation albums that we would be releasing. Now, we present to you "Subarctic Nocturnes: Within the Ice[Volume II]", a collection of Black Metal and associated genres!

Free stream / download

Within this volume, a few different variations of Black Metal is included. The start of the album includes more fast-paced, and aggressive Black Metal, while the end of the album includes more introspective and melancholic Post-Black Metal. It is not a perfect science to be sure, but an effort was made to make the songs flow as best as possible, which can be a challenge when including twelve different visions! 

There is equal measures of new and old material included within, with a nice mixture of Hypnotic Dirge artists and associated guests. A french rendition of Celtic Frost`s 'A Dying God Coming into Human Flesh' is included from the French band Verlies, new material from netra presenting one of the most straight-forward Black Metal songs in the project's history, new demo material from Galaktik Cancer Squad, a reworked track from Epitimia, a track from Immortal Bird (ex. Woods of Ypres Drummer Rae's band), a track from Quebecois legends Sorcier des Glaces, introspective blackened metal from Harrow, and the album closer "Let me in" from the fantastic new Post-Black Metal band from Calgary, Numonerean. These, among others, are some of the pieces included in this collection.

1 - Sorcier des Glaces - Morbid Ritual
2 - Grieving Mirth - Optio
3 - Immortal Bird - Spitting Teeth
4 - Galaktik Cancer Squad - Ghost Crypt System (Demo)
5 - Verlies [ft. Morne & Psycho] - Un Dieu Mourant Devenant Chair Humaine (Celtic Frost Cover)
6 - netra - Don’t keep me waiting
7 - Veldes - Woe Eater
8 - Windbruch - No Stars 
9 - Obsidian Tongue - Brothers in the Stars  
10 - Epitimia - Chapter V - Jamais Vu
11 - Harrow - Stream-Enterer
12 - Numenorean - Let me in

Artwork by: Coby O'Brien 

Artwork editing by: Alexander Machtakov 

Thanks to all the bands and artists for participating!

In : Hypnotic Dirge Records 

Tags: hypnotic dirge records  free digital compilation  black metal  post black metal  shoegaze  blackgaze  raw black metal  epitimia  harrow  numenorean  netra 

Blog Archive