Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News


Posted by Nick Skog on Sunday, March 31, 2019 Under: Kval
The second full-length album from the Finnish Atmospheric Black Metal act Kval, entitled Laho will be released on May 23. The title track is now streaming!

Two summers ago, Finnish Black Metal project Kval released their debut self-titled album, an album which was originally released under the moniker Khaossos in 2015. Kval has spent the past few months writing and refining the tracks for the second Kval album, entitled Laho, the first album to be written for Kval from the start.

Compared to the previous album, Laho ("Rotten" in English) has a brighter and more colorful atmosphere musically while the lyrical themes on Laho references the decay and rot of the forest floor, applied as a metaphor for the human mind. Our inability to live in the moment, the loss of innocence, and the ever-present corrosion of our optimism and descent into cynicism encompass the themes of Laho, wrapped in captivating and entrancing Atmospheric Black Metal.

As with the previous self-titled album, fitting and imaginative hand-drawn cover art was crafted by Moonroot Art. Laho will be presented as a 6 panel digipack and released on Hypnotic Dirge Records on May 23, 2019. 

Laho Tracklist:
1 - Valosula (9:34)
2 - Laho (10:32)
3 - Pohjanriitti (11:52)
4 - Kaihon Kuiskaus (6:15)
5 - Bonus track (exclusive to the CD) (9:44)

In : Kval 

Tags: "kval" "kval laho" "kval black metal" "moonroot art" "kval selftitled" "kval atmospheric black metal" 

Blog Archive