Song Premiere: Epitimia - Illusion III - Foretime

Posted by Nick Skog on Wednesday, January 22, 2014 Under: Song Premieres
Song Premiere: Epitimia - Illusion III - Foretime

A new track from the experimental and eclectic Russian Blackened Metal band is now available for free streaming and download, and the long-awaited release of the (Un)reality 2CD is not far behind! The track, entitled "Illusion III - Foretime", from the second disc and "Illusion" side of the album also includes female vocals from "M.", and could be considered one of the more "accesible" tracks on the double-album.  (Un)reality is scheduled for release in a 6 panel digipack on February 15 this year. Another song release and pre-orders will commense shortly!

Epitimia's new double-album "(Un)reality" is a culmination of over a year's hard work for the Saint-Petersburg based band which has been working on an expansive and ambitious follow-up to their last album "Faces of Insanity" released in the summer of 2012. "(Un)reality" includes lots of new innovations and interesting ideas on both the musical and conceptual sides and could easily be considered their most accomplished effort to date. Tortured black metal screams alongside a progressive and experimental cacophony of sounds combine to create a truly memorable and complex album taking various elements from many genres including post-rock, black metal, blackgaze, ambient, and jazz to create the sonic palette for this conceptual story. Female vocalist “M.” is also present on the album once again as well as very interesting session work from the saxophonist D’arcy Molan (from the debut Subterranean Disposition album) whose contributions appears throughout the album. Released in a deluxe 6 panel digipack with an additional 12 page booklet and augmented with artwork from Mayhem Design in Russia, this is certainly Epitimia’s magnum opus! 

Epitimia describes the (Un)reality album: 
“(Un)reality is like limbo, the world where the hero lingers. His day life here is infinite and artificial, but his dreams fill his mind with bright new images, odd flashbacks, and the reminiscence of his other lives. These visions are the keys to understanding what is happening to him, and may be the only chance to escape. “Delusion” contains the dark images of objective reality while “Illusions” is a moment in which all his dreams merge: hope, love and most importantly – the desire for truth, by which he will be free forever.”

The tracklist for (Un)reality is:

01 – Birth
02 - Delusion I – Escapism
03 - Delusion II – Ataraxia
04 - Delusion III – Frustration
05 - Delusion IV – Contemplation
06 - Delusion V - Post scriptum
07 - Delusion VI - Mors putativa
08 - Delusion VII – Elysium
09 – Metanoia

01 - A Flash Before Death
02 - Illusion I – Muse
03 - Illusion II – Oath
04 - Illusion III – Foretime
05 - Illusion IV – Reflection
06 - Illusion V – Far Away
07 - Illusion VI – Fracture
08 - Illusion VII – Catharsis

In : Song Premieres 

Tags: epitimia post-rock experimental eclectic black metal blackgaze shoegaze (un)reality faces of insanity