Review from Feedback Magazine

Posted by Nick Skog on Sunday, November 4, 2012 Under: Album Reviews
From: Feedback Magazine
Published: August 11, 2012
Original Link

Epitimia are a three piece group originating from St.Petersburg, Russian Federation with quirky named band members A, K and M.  They play atmospheric black metal tinged post-rock with raw aggression and enthusiasm. Together since 2008, this is now their third full length and first to be released through Hypnotic Dirge Records. It is naturally, a far more mature release than debut album ‘To the non-existing shades...’ and its predecessor ‘Four Truths of the Noble Ones’.

The overall running theme of Faces of Insanity is that of the main character’s unbearable struggle and suffering at the hands of a mental illness.  ‘Epikrisis I - Altered state of consciousness’ is a powerful fusion of melancholy and black metal fury, opening with some neat 80’s style riffing from guitarist A who handles guitar duties extremely comfortably, his palette is impressive in that he pulls melodies and styles from a number of genres with ease, a truly gifted musician.

Even though the lyrics are all in Russian, titles like ‘Epikrisis VI: Leucotomy’ and ‘Epikrisis II: Intrusive Thoughts’ translate well musically, especially when you hear the fury in the voice of vocalist K.

There is an abundance of ideas on Faces of Insanity and a surprisingly broad sound from a three-piece act that are still relatively in the infancy of their careers.  It is beautifully brought together with the strikingly, beautiful artwork which is fittingly provided by fellow Russian artist Jonathan Strange.

Reviewed by: Gerry Gilroy

In : Album Reviews 

Tags: epitimia faces of insanity four truths of the noble ones atmospheric post-rock post-metal black metal experimental 


Released: July 14, 2012
500 Copies
Atmospheric Black Metal/Post-rock