Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News


Posted by Hypnotic Dirge Records on Tuesday, April 30, 2024 Under: Hekseblad
It is almost an exciting day for us when all the preparing that goes into a release culminates in the day when we can finally share the full album with you all, and today is no different! Hekseblad's debut full-length album, Kaer Morhen, coming off the heels of 2022's split album "Abattoir Dust Vol. 2" (with Vér / Nachtheir) and 2021's EP "The Fall of Cintra", releases today on Bandcamp, Youtube, and all digital platforms!

As for physical media, "Kaer Morhen" is available as a limited LP release, in two separate variants - "Lilac and Sorcery" which is already sold out, and "Yrden Gate

Order LP (Canada / USA) | Order LP (Rest of World)
Update: April 20 - Both "Lilac and Sorcery" and "Yrden Trap" Variants sold out

Order CD (Canada / USA) | Order CD (Rest of World)

Album notes:
In the waning months of the cursed year 2020, as the seasons changed to the cold, dark months of winter two long time friends joined forces to create Hekseblad, a Melodic Black metal band who would soon take the underground by storm. Bruxa, a vocalist and songwriter from Michigan handles the lore and storytelling of the duo's music (Witch's Amulet, Fanged Imp, Bruxa, Oaken Palace), while Frosk (Frog Mallet, Groaning Retch), a multi-instrumentalist and Studio owner from Massachusetts handles guitars, bass and the entire production process.

Fresh off a run of successful EP releases and a well received Split (w/ Vér and Nachtheir), American Black Metal band Hekseblad returns in 2024 with the release of their debut Full-Length “Kaer Morhen” 

Drawing lyrical inspiration from the works of  Andrezj Sapkowski's beloved Fantasy franchise “The Witcher” and musically recalling the days of true Black Metal glory (namely the likes of Emperor, Dissection, Gorgoroth and Obtained Enslavement), Hekseblad delivers a furious and magickal take on the sound of late 90’s Black Metal; balancing on the edge of melodic but malicious with their furious barrage of riffs and tying it together with flourishes of Symphonic sorcery conjuring a maelstrom of frozen ferocity.

Kaer Morhen CD Tracklist:
1. School of the Wolf (4:16)
2. A Grain of Truth (Nivellin’s Waltz) (3:54)
3. The White Flame (5:20)
4. The Taste of Ash (5:14)
5. Ithlinne’s Prophecy (2:09)
6. Kaer Morhen (5:09)
7. Master Crafted (4:56)
8. The Fall of the Northern Realms (6:43)
9. Sodden (4:40)
10. Vatt’ghern (6:30)

Kaer Morhen LP Tracklist: (and specs)
Side A
School of the Wolf (4:16)
A Grain of Truth (Nivellin’s Waltz) (3:54)
The White Flame (5:20)
The Taste of Ash (5:14)
Kaer Morhen (5:09)

Side B
Ithlinne’s Prophecy (2:09)
Master Crafted (4:56)
The Fall of the Northern Realms (6:43)
Sodden (4:40)
Vatt’ghern (6:30)

Record Details:
Shipping: July 2024
Release Type: LP
Playing Time: 48:53
Genre: Melodic Black Metal
Quantity: 200 Copies

Record Specs:
- LP Sleeve; with 30cm x 30cm insert
First pressing limited to 200 copies, divided into 2 different variants
--- 100 in "Lilac and Sorcery" edition
--- 100 in "Yrden Trap" edition
- 140g vinyl at 33 rpm in black poly-lined inner sleeves
- packed in a plastic sleeve

Bandcamp Player:

In : Hekseblad 

Blog Archive