Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News

ALBUM RELEASE: stroszek - sound graveyard bound [2023]

Posted by Hypnotic Dirge Records on Friday, December 15, 2023 Under: stroszek
In addition to stroszek's new album about all the bad days in the world, we have also re-issued stroszek's third full-length sound graveyard bound, released all the way back in 2012 and definitely deserving of renewed attention in our opinion! Sold out now for many years, the new edition of sound graveyard bound was re-released in an elegant digisleeve format with brand new artwork from renowned Italian horror author Paolo Di Orazio.

We of course encourage you to pick up the physical CD but for those who prefer to declutter or are on a limited budget, be advised that as always all our albums are on Bandcamp for unlimited stream and "name-your-price" digital download with no minimum! At the end of the day, we want you to hear the music that we worked hard on!

Please be aware that our last shipping day of the year is Wednesday December 20. All orders placed up to Dec 19 will be shipped this year before we take a pause. Shipping will begin again January 2, 2024

Order CD:
North American Store | EU Store | Bandcamp

Album notes:
Before the release of 2023's "about all the bad days in the world", the last stroszek album was all the way back in 2012. Long sold out, "sound graveyard bound" was the band's third album - at that time a three piece headed by founder Claudio Alcara [Frostmoon Eclipse]. What better occasion to press a new edition of the long out of print "sound graveyard bound" then alongside the release of the new album.

A confluence of sounds that harken back to Tom Waits, Townes Van Zandt, and Johnny Cash, stroszek is an atypical dark folk project founded by a black metal musician, and often described by its frontman as "old music for old people". An album for quiet evening drives to wallow in your melancholic mood, "sound graveyard bound" interlaces acoustic rock, american folk music, and neo-folk to craft a somber temperament.

“I wouldn’t call stroszek a ‘side project’ as such, it’s really just my material; something that has been inside me for a long time. A friend asked me to define the style, and when I couldn’t she described it as ‘long drives along deserted highways with just your own thoughts for company’. she nailed the feel exactly”.

Re-mastered for the new pressing, and featuring cover artwork concept and drawing from paolo di orazio

1. can't make things undone (5:14)
2. Shipwreck (5:13)
3. hope I'll never know (5:00)
4. Leftover (4:43)
5. self closure (4:41)
6. Adrift (4:47)
7. spirits dwell (4:17)
8. Crows (5:28)
9. if the world hadn'd gone insane (4:41)
10. now we're even (2:39)
Bandcamp Player:

In : stroszek 

Blog Archive