Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News

Song Premiere: stroszek - "bury the bottle with me" and "the unlucky ones" [From the upcoming album: "wild years of remorse and failures"]

Posted by Nick Skog on Thursday, October 10, 2013 Under: stroszek
stroszek to re-release a compilation of first two albums and EP in December!
New Dick Curless cover "Bury the Bottle with Me"  and "the unlucky ones" available for streaming/download now.

The dark folk/acoustic project stroszek is preparing to re-release their first two full-lengths and EP in a new compilation double-album aptly titled "wild years of remorse and failures" which will feature all 24 songs present in the "songs of remorse", "the wild hunt" and "life failures made music" albums as well as two additional new cover songs. 

All of the music has been re-mastered and the vocals on the original "songs of remorse" album have been rerecorded as the vocals on the original recordings were one aspect that vocalist and songwriter c. felt were not up to par with stroszek's later recordings. 

Two songs from the double-album are now available for streaming and download on the Band and Label's Bandcamp pages. "bury the bottle with me" - a Dick Curless Cover song originally released in 1968 which will appear on the "remorse" side (Disc I) and "the unlucky ones" the opening track from the "failures" side (Disc II). 

The tracklist for the double-album is as follows:

remorse - disc I
With carefully strummed minor key acoustic guitars, deliberate yet restrained piano lines, bursts of heaviness added for texture and deep, lush clean sung vocals that relay a sense of dread lurking beneath the surface, "songs of remorse" is perhaps at once one of the most melancholic yet accessible albums of 2007.

1 - a nightwalk in partille
2 - color of the street
3 - the night porter
4 - the house told me
5 - stones in my throat
6 - bury the bottle with me (Dick Curless Cover)
7 - the railroad track
8 - not even the half
9 - slow sleep
10 - was it worth the wait
11 - wheels to rust
12 - sand

failures - disc II
stroszek returns with their second opus, the follow-up to 'songs of remorse', with the aptly titled 'life failures made music'; and with song titles like 'the unlucky ones', 'gone by the fall', and 'land of silence and darkness' its no secret that this album is filled with crushing sadness. Take equal parts Neofolk, the fatalist mentality of Black Metal, the darkness of older Alice in Chains, the beautiful acoustics of latter-day Antimatter and the painfully soft, whispered vocals of Tom Waits and it is easy to see precisely why this crushing sadness is what makes this record so damn special.

1 - the unlucky ones
2 - gone by the fall
3 - undead hotel
4 - turn the sky to winter
5 - nighthawks and underdogs
6 - I'll keep everything
7 - the devil's chair
8 - a life failure
9 - land of silence and darkness
10 - tecumseh valley (Townes Van Zandt Cover)
11 - secret of the earth
12 - from mound to mound
13 - green jade
14 - autumnal

c. in studio rerecording vocals for the "songs of remorse" tracks

The album release is scheduled for release on December 7, 2013 on Hypnotic Dirge Records with brand new album artwork featuring photography from label owner n. skog and edited by the graphic designer Saman N. - better known for his music projects Ekove Efrits, Silent Path, and Inner Trip.


In : stroszek 

Tags: stroszek "wild years of remorse and failures" "life failures made music" "songs of remorse" "the wild hunt" "acoustic" "dark folk" "country folk" "acoustic folk" "blues" "townes van zandt" "dick curless" "johnny cash" "tom waits" 

Blog Archive