Hypnotic Dirge Updates and News

ALBUM RELEASE: Epitimia - "(Un)reality" double-album 6 panel digipack

Posted by Nick Skog on Friday, February 14, 2014 Under: Epitimia

Epitimia's new double-album "(Un)reality" is a culmination of over a year's hard work for the Saint-Petersburg based band which has been working on an expansive and ambitious follow-up to their last album "Faces of Insanity" released in the summer of 2012. "(Un)reality" includes lots of new innovations and interesting ideas on both the musical and conceptual sides and could easily be considered their most accomplished effort to date. Tortured black metal screams alongside a progressive and experimental cacophony of sounds combine to create a truly memorable and complex album taking various elements from many genres including post-rock, black metal, blackgaze, ambient, and jazz to create the sonic palette for this conceptual story. Female vocalist “M.” is also present on the album once again as well as very interesting session work from the saxophonist D’arcy Molan (from the debut Subterranean Disposition album) whose contributions appears throughout the album. Released in a deluxe 6 panel digipack with an additional 12 page booklet and augmented with artwork from Mayhem Design in Russia, this is certainly Epitimia’s magnum opus! 

The album is certainly Hypnotic Dirge's most ambitious release to date in scope and presentation to this date and will serve as our last release for a while before we take a bit of a break (more on this soon!)
(Un)reality can be ordered for $12.00 + shipping in the HDR Webstore.

Epitimia describes the (Un)reality album: 
“(Un)reality is like limbo, the world where the hero lingers. His day life here is infinite and artificial, but his dreams fill his mind with bright new images, odd flashbacks, and the reminiscence of his other lives. These visions are the keys to understanding what is happening to him, and may be the only chance to escape. “Delusion” contains the dark images of objective reality while “Illusions” is a moment in which all his dreams merge: hope, love and most importantly – the desire for truth, by which he will be free forever.”

The tracklist for (Un)reality is:

01 – Birth
02 - Delusion I – Escapism
03 - Delusion II – Ataraxia
04 - Delusion III – Frustration
05 - Delusion IV – Contemplation
06 - Delusion V - Post scriptum
07 - Delusion VI - Mors putativa
08 - Delusion VII – Elysium
09 – Metanoia

01 - A Flash Before Death
02 - Illusion I – Muse
03 - Illusion II – Oath
04 - Illusion III – Foretime
05 - Illusion IV – Reflection
06 - Illusion V – Far Away
07 - Illusion VI – Fracture
08 - Illusion VII – Catharsis
09 - Rebirth

Order CD
Stream/Download - Bandcamp
Stream - Youtube
Epitimia Profile
Epitimia Facebook

Bandcamp Player:

In : Epitimia 

Tags: epitimia  (un)reality  black metal  post black metal  experimental  post-rock  blackgaze  jazz 

Blog Archive