PRE-ORDER: Norilsk - The Idea of North

Posted by Nick Skog on Thursday, February 5, 2015 Under: Album News
Norilsk - The Idea of North available to pre-order!
New Norilsk track “Planète heurt available to stream/download!
February 5, 2015

Named after Siberia’s northernmost city, home of a famous heavy metal smelting complex, Norilsk is a doom-death band from Gatineau (Québec), Canada. After releasing an  EP, “Japetus” last summer, Norilsk’s first full-length album - “The Idea of North” will be released through CD, tape, and digital formats on March 10, 2015!

Hypnotic Dirge Records is now taking pre-orders for the CD and digital versions of the album!

Pre-order CD | Pre-order Digital

The CD version will be presented in a glorious 4-panel digipack which includes a 12 page booklet containing all lyrics and translations (English and French), for worldwide fans of death-doom to enjoy the bitter taste of the Great White North. The CD version also comes with a bonus ninth track that will not appear on the other versions. The bonus track is “Coeur de Loup” (Heart of the Wolf), a ironic doom rendering of a song originally composed by the Belgian pop artist Philippe Lafontaine.

During the pre-order period, the CD will be available for $8.00( + shipping) instead of $10.00 (+ shipping), and those that pre-order the album will have their copies shipped 10 days prior to the release date. Asides from that, there are also a few other exclusive bonuses for the first buyers. The first 100 copies of the album sold comes with an 11cm x 7cm Norilsk sticker, and the first 40 copies of the album come with a full-color 43cm x 28cm Norilsk poster - a commissioned depiction of the doomed Franklin ship, which was lost at sea in 1845 searching for a Northwest passage to the pacific ocean and was finally discovered 169 years later in 2014 by a team of Canadian archaeologists.

The digital version is available from the Hypnotic Dirge Bandcamp for $1.00. When you pre-order the digital version, you will automatically receive an email to download the album on the release date - March 10, 2015! Currently, the tracks “Japetus” and the newly-added “Planète heurt” are available for streaming / download as the advance preview tracks!

The entire album will be set as a free and unrestricted stream / download upon its release!

“The Idea of North” is a doom-death album crafted for the winter season: it has slow and crushing riffs, death growls, and atmospheric arrangements. An evocation of an ominous presence over a vast wasteland, “The Idea of North” is a massive offering that triggers the imagination. Its music draws comparison with doom-death bands such as My Dying Bride, Morgion and Ablaze in Hatred, but it also has a few atmospheric sludge/post metal elements reminiscent of Isis and Morne.

Inspired by the multi-faceted Canadian experience of the North, and assembled into a cold yet dynamic sequence of eight individual songs, the album explores themes of darkness, isolation, identity, archaism and persistence—thus delivering a fresh perspective over the cliché Nordic imagery in metal in general.

 “The Idea of North” was recorded at Studio En-Phase in Montreal by Jean-Philippe Latour (Paroxysm, Fuck the Facts, Talamyus), and mixed at Pebble Studios in Ottawa by Mike Bond (Dissentient, Endemise, Loviatar, Signs of Chaos), while the artwork was designed by professional artist Sam Ford, who also designed album artworks for Black Cobra, Witch Mountain and Monarch, among others.

The tape version of “The Idea of North” will be released through Dwyer Records and a vinyl version is planned at a later date on Alerta Antifascista Records!

“The Idea of North” tracklist:
1 - Japetus
2 - Planète heurt
3 - Throa
4 - La liberté aux ailes brisées
5 - Nature morte
6 - Potsdam Glo
7 - La Grande Noirceur
8 - The Idea of North
9 - Coeur de Loup (*exclusive to the CD)

Pre-order Norilsk - The Idea of North CD
Pre-order Norilsk - The Idea of North digital
Norilsk Facebook
Hypnotic Dirge Records - Norilsk page
Dwyer Records

Recommended if you like:
My Dying Bride, Morgion, Ablaze in Hatred, Isis and Morne.

Album line-up:
Nicolas Miquelon – bass, guitars and vocals
Nick Richer – drums, percussions and backing vocals

In : Album News 

Tags: "norilsk" "death-doom metal" "the idea of north" "japetus" "sludge doom" "canadian doom metal" "gatineau quebec" "my dying bride" "morne" "morgion"