Review from Metal Trenches

April 12, 2017
From: Metal Trenches
Published: April 12, 2017

The Pitch: Two very talented, textured Canadian instrumental doom bands for the price of one: Black Tremor and Sea Witch  via Hypnotic Dirge Records. FFO Downfall of Nur, Crown, Thera Roya

What I Like: This split is more than just your average doom metal.  Like I said, it's very "textured" and has some subtle intricacies that really carried my attention.  You've got your familiar bass guitar reverberations and T Rex-sized chord sustains, but there's a ton of atmosphere as well.  Haunting, effects-laden guitar leads drift in the background like an ominous mist.  Black Tremor throws in some jazzy drums and bass grooves, as well some tension-building (and also lush) strings.  It's doom, it's progressive, it's post-metal and even a little touch of folk. 

What I Don't Like: Very little, which says a lot considering my larger opinions regarding doom metal.  There's room for compositional growth, but I'm pretty satisfied.

The Verdict: Especially given the lack of vocals, I am impressed with how immersive and engaging this music is.  It's a contemplative early morning walk through a brisk fog; street lights still shining.  Beautiful melancholy.

Flight's Fav's: As The Crow Flies Part One, Hexus Part One

Rating: 8.3/10

 

Review from Meat Mead Metal

March 25, 2017
From: Meat Mead Metal
Published: November 22, 2016

*This review was written in 2016 since this album was initially planned for a 2016 release through Sunmask at this time.

We’re reaching the point in the year where I’m going to have to do a lot of driving in what likely is to be fairly bad weather conditions. I oddly enjoy that, though, because that means a lot of family visits over the holidays, but with all that mileage, having the right music to accompany me is a huge key.

My ...

Continue reading...
 

Review from New Noise Magazine

March 25, 2017
From: New Noise Magazine
Published: October 25, 2016

*This review was written in 2016 since this album was initially planned for a 2016 release through Sunmask at this time.

Both extremes of the Canadian landscape find a home on the split LP from Nova Scotia’s nautically themed Sea Witch, and bastard sons of the prairie Black Tremor.

Sea Witch churns the chum bucket slurry churns pretty hard. They are a two-piece out of Dartmouth, NS whose sound is dense and harrowing, yet full of ...

Continue reading...
 

Review from Doomspeakers

March 25, 2017
From: Doomspeakers
Published: October 13, 2016

*This review was written in 2016 since this album was initially planned for a 2016 release through Sunmask at this time.

Courtesy of SunMask records we’ve been handed this promo for an upcoming split LP which showcases two superb Canadian doom bands; Sea Witch playing a nautical inspired blend of doom and Black Tremor with their trademark hypnotic brand of melancholic folk doom.

More than just being from the same country, being instrum...

Continue reading...
 

Review from Echoes and Dust Webzine

March 25, 2017
From: Echoes and Dust Webzine
Published: October 1, 2016

*This review was written in 2016 since this album was initially planned for a 2016 release through Sunmask at this time.

Sea Witch and Black Tremor are two brilliant instrumental bands who unite for this split release and while at first listen it would seem that the two bands don’t have that much in common musically, there is definitely a spirit that links them and after repeated listens, the bond between the two bands is ev...

Continue reading...
 

Review from Bringer of Death Zine

March 25, 2017
From: Bringer of Death Zine
Published: August 13, 2016

*This review was written in 2016 since this album was initially planned for a 2016 release through Sunmask at this time.

This  is  a  review  of  a  split  album  between  Nova  Scotis,  Canada's  Sea  Witch  and  Saskatchewan,  Canada's  Black Tremor  which  will  be  released  in  October  by  Sunmask  and  we  will  start  off  the  review  with  Sea  Witch  a  band  that  plays  an  instrumental  form  of  blackened  doom  m...

Continue reading...
 




 Released: March 24, 2017
300 Copies
Genre: Instrumental Doom Metal
[Progressive, Folk, Sludge, Funeral]

ORDER CD
STREAM / DOWNLOAD

Categories

Blog Archive